ARCTIC FUTURES SYMPOSIUM 2016

STRENGTHENING SUSTAINABLE COMMUNITIES

Wednesday, November 30

8:00-9:00 Registration

Master of ceremony: Mikael Janson, Director, North Sweden European Office

9:00-9:30 Opening Ceremony

Introduction: Nighat F.D. Johnson-Amin, VP, International Polar

Foundation

Philippe Bodson, Honorary President of the Fédération Belge d'Entreprise,

President of the Fondation pour l'Architecture, Member IPF Board

Hon. Minister Vittus Qujaukitsoq, Minister for Industry, Labour, Trade,

Energy and Foreign Affairs, Government of Greenland

9:30-11:10 The Arctic Council 20 Years: Shared Opportunities,

Challenges & Responsibilities

Moderator: Michael Sfraga, Vice Chancellor, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Pekka Shemeikka, Senior Adviser, Arctic Cooperation, Government of Finland

Ambassador Anniken Ramberg Krutnes, Senior Arctic Official, Norway

Ambassador Andrés Jato, Senior Arctic Official, Sweden

Gunn-Britt Retter, Head of the Arctic and Environment Unit, Saami Council

Jesper Stig Andersen, Senior Arctic Adviser, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Denmark

Tómas Orri Ragnarsson, Counsellor, Arctic Affairs, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Iceland

Bob Paquin, Head of the Canadian International Centre for the Arctic, Norway

Q&A

11:10-11:30 Networking break and coffee

11:30 - 13:00 The new European Union policy for the Arctic – a new Impulse for Arctic Cooperation?

Moderator: Timo Koivurova, Director of Arctic Centre

Boris larochevitch, Head of Division, Eastern partnership, Regional Cooperation and OSCE, EU External Action Action Service (EEAS)

Felix Leinemann, Head of Unit, Maritime policy Atlantic, Outermost Regions and Arctic, DG MARE, European Commission

Urmas Paet, MEP (ALDE), Rapporteur on Integrated EU policy for the Arctic, European Parliament

Eirik Sivertsen, Head of the Norwegian Parliament's Delegation for Arctic Parliamentary Cooperation and member of the Norwegian Parliament, Stortinget

Mika Riipi, Governor, County of Lapland, Finland

Rod Downie, Polar Policy and Programme Officer, WWF UK Q&A

13:00-14:00 Lunch

14:00-15:30 Remote Community Infrastructure (parallel session)

Moderator: Damien Degeorges, Director, Degeorges Consulting

Meinhard Eliasen, Senior Energy Advisor, Energy Department, Environment Agency of the Faroe Islands

Margareta Johansson, University of Lund, Sweden

Lorents Burman, Mayor, City of Skellefteå, Västerbotten region, and chair the North Botnia Line (Bothnian Corridor), Sweden

Halldor Johannsson, Arctic Portal, Sustaining Arctic Observing Networks, Iceland

Greg Poelzer, Arctic Fulbright Scholar, Professor School of Environment & Sustainability, University of Saskatchewan, Canada

Tim Stelzig, General Communications Incorporated (GCI), telecoms company, USA

Lisbeth Iversen, Associate, Nansen Environmental and Remote Sensing Centre (NERSC), Norway

Q&A

14:00-15:30 The EU - Arctic Stakeholder Forum (parallel session)

Streamlining EU funding programmes for the Arctic

Moderator: Alessia Clocchiatti, DG MARE, European Commission

Welcome and introduction: what is the Arctic Stakeholder Forum

Bernhard Friess, Director for Atlantic, Arctic and Outermost Regions, EU Commission DG MARE

NPI Kolarctic programme

Päivi Ekdahl, Development Director, Managing Authority of Kolarctic ENPI, Regional Council of Lapland, Finland

INTERREG NORD

Lena Anttila, Head of Unit International Affairs, Managing Authority, Interreg V Nord, County Administrative Board of Norrbotten, Sweden

INTERREG NPA

Ole Damsgaard, Head of Secretariat, NPA Programme, Copenhagen, Denmark

The first step to the global market through trust, know-how and export training

Peter Larsson, Nordic Business Support, Swedish Lapland Chamber of Commerce

Visit Arctic Europe

Erica Mattsson, Visit Arctic Europe, Swedish Lapland Visitors Board

Comments: **Aile Javo**, President of the Saami Council, **Jarle Aarbakke**, Deputy Mayor, City of Tromsø, Norway & **Andrés Jato**, Senior Arctic Official, Sweden

Q&A

15:30-16:30 Northern Communities' Perspective on Sustainability

Moderator: Peter Sköld, Professor, IASSA President, Director Arctic Research Center at Umeå University, ARCUM, Sweden

Jarle Aarbakke, Deputy Mayor, City of Tromsø, Norway

Svein Vigeland Rottem, Director, Polar Programme, Fridtjof Nansens Institute,

Niklas Sirén, Deputy Mayor, City of Kiruna, Norrbotten County, Sweden Q&A

16:30-16:45 Networking break and coffee

16:45-17:45 Investments and Business Opportunities in the Arctic regions

Moderator: Henry Burgess, NERC, UK

Stephen Hart, Head of Copenhagen Office, European Investment Bank, Denmark

Chris McDonald, Policy Analyst, Regional Development Policy Division, OFCD

Lise-Lotte Terp, CEO, Arctic Consensus, Denmark

Anna Karlsdóttir, Senior Research Fellow, Nordregio, Sweden Q&A

<u>17:45-18:00</u> Closing Remarks

Nils Andreassen, Executive Director, Institute of the North, Alaska, USA

18:00 Cocktail Reception

























